National Photo Awards 2006 Photo Contests

The National Photo Awards offers three separate Photo Contests.

1. NEW for 2006 the cash prize added Monthly Photo Contest.
2. The 2006 Annual Photo Contest.t_header_left.jpg
3. “Just for Fun” Weekly Free Photo Contest.

National and International Entries will be accepted by the National Photo Awards
The 2006 Monthly Photo Contests have begun and entries are due on the 20th of each month.

Film and digital camera photographs are both accepted into the photo contest.

Baby photo contest entries should be entered under the People, Baby or Child category. To compete for cash prizes, enter the Monthly Photo Contest otherwise, enter our “Just for Fun” contest. Photography prints may be in color, black & white or hand-tinted.
Jpeg files are accepted for online entries.

The 2006 Annual Photo Awards

1. The Rising Star Photo Award will be awarded to the amateur exhibiting the most promising talent in photography, all amateur entries will be considered.
2. Master of the Macro Award 2006. All macro entries will be considered for this special award.
3. Earn the “Photographer of the Year” photo award in either the amateur or professional divisions.
4. Divisions for amateurs and professionals.

The National Photo Awards contests offers photographers unlimited viewing opportunities and exposure to their work to a worldwide audience. Winners in the Annual Photo Awards will receive a press release that may be used to publicize his/her achievement.

Photographers retain the copyright of entered photos. more…

WHO Photo Contest

 œImages of Health and Disability 2005/2006


The closing date for entries is 31. March 2006.
Main Theme: “Children and Youth” with a special invitation to young photographers
1st Prize: 1000 US-Dollars + one set of ICF publications
Special Prize: Health & Disability at work

1st Prize: 1000 US-Dollars + one set of ICF publicationsSpecial Prize: Health & Disability at workAfter the successful launch of the WHO Photo Contest in 2002 in conjunction with the release of the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF), the World Health Organization invites photographers around the world to participate in the international photo contest — œImages of Health and Disability 2005/2006.
more »

The International Photography Awards 2006

The International Photography Awards conducts two parallel competitions each year: one for professional photographers, who earn the majority of their livelihood from their craft, and a second for non-professional photographers. IPA is open to photographers from all parts of the globe.

The deadline for submissions to the 2006 International Photography Awards is May 31, 2006.

Certificates of excellence will be awarded in all sub-categories to both professionals and non-professionals, who will then compete within their respective pools for the following titles:

contest.jpgAdvertising Photographer of the Year
Architectural Photographer of the Year
Editorial Photographer of the Year
Photography Book of the Year (professional category only)
Fine Art Photographer of the Year
Nature Photographer of the Year
People Photographer of the Year
Photographer of the Year in Special category more »

International Year of Rice 2004

fao.jpgDevoting a year to a commodity was an unprecedented step in United Nations history. Compelling factors lie under this decision: the spectre of increased hunger, malnutrition, poverty and conflict in the coming decades. In 2002, these factors moved the government of the Philippines, along with 43 other countries, to formally request that the UN General Assembly declare 2004 the International Year of Rice. But the idea had been circulating among major agricultural organisations since 1999 due to growing concern that fundamental issues needed to be tackled on a global level. 

A number of international institutions came together to steer this vital project alongside the Food and Agriculture Organization. This section provides information on IYR partners and on why the UN launched a Year of Rice.